Action Alert — Stop the tax cut bill in Senate committee

Make history today!  This morning tens of thousands of Oklahomans are expected to turn out for the largest rally at the state capitol in Oklahoma history.   When was the last time something BIG happened and you thought “Wow! I should have been there” ? Today may be that kind of day. Are you going to come stand with us for education?

See the schedule, where to get on a shuttle bus, and more information about the rally here!

Action Alert

A major tax cut bill will be heard in Senate committee Tuesday morning. The Senate Finance Committee is scheduled to hear HB 2508 on Tuesday. It would trigger automatic cuts to the corporate and personal income tax as soon as there are minimal revenue increases.

Contact your lawmaker and members of the Senate Finance Committee and tell them to vote NO on HB 2508! Speaking out now will be especially valuable if you are a constituent of a Finance Committee member. 

Talking Points:

  • Don’t cut my taxes, fund my services! It’s better for Oklahomans and better for the economy to keep the revenue for schools, public health and safety, and other important services.
  • Triggering automatic tax cuts whenever revenue grows is irresponsible. Oklahoma could face a natural disaster, spiking health care costs, court mandates, or who knows what. Lawmakers can’t predict the future, so they shouldn’t be putting the budget on auto-pilot.
  • A minimal revenue increase is the wrong trigger. We should have no tax cuts until we’re reducing our class sizes, paying teachers adequately, and maintaining public buildings. Make it personal! Can you think of other benchmarks for Oklahoma to meet before we cut taxes again?

See a list of Finance Committee members below and find their contact information at http://www.oksenate.gov/committees/standing/finance.htm.

Senator Mike Mazzei (Tulsa) – (405) 521-5675, mazzei@oksenate.gov
Senator Rick Brinkley (Owasso) – (405) 521-5566, brinkley@oksenate.gov
Senator Cliff Aldridge (Midwest City) – (405) 521-5584, aldridge@oksenate.gov
Senator Nathan Dahm (Broken Arrow) – (405) 521-5551, Dahm@oksenate.gov
Senator Kim David (Porter)- (405) 521-5590, david@oksenate.gov
Senator John Ford (Bartlesville) – (405) 521-5634, fordj@oksenate.gov
Senator Jim Halligan (Stillwater) – (405) 521.5572, halligan@oksenate.gov
Senator Constance Johnson (Oklahoma City) – (405) 521-5531, johnsonc@oksenate.gov
Senator Clark Jolley (Edmond) – (405) 521-5622, jolley@oksenate.gov
Senator McAffrey (Oklahoma City) – (405) 521-5610, mcaffrey@oksenate.gov
Senator Frank Simpson (Springer) – (405) 521-5607, simpson@oksenate.gov
Senator John Sparks (Norman) – (405) 521-5553, sparks@oksenate.gov
Senator Greg Treat (Oklahoma City) – (405) 521-5632, Treat@oksenate.gov

Thank you for standing up for our state’s future!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.