Help end over-incarceration by calling these legislators.

Oklahoma leads the nation in incarceration. Oklahomans are put behind bars for things as minor as simple drug possession and inability to pay a fine or a fee.  This practice costs our state millions of dollars which could go towards real solutions like job training and mental health and substance abuse treatment. Additionally, it is not making us any safer. Fortunately, there is something you can do right now. Please call your legislators and ask them to vote YES to two bills that will help break this cycle of over-incarceration.

Senate Bill 252

SB 252, authored by Sen. Roger Thompson and Rep. Chris Kannadywill help end pretrial detention for people accused of misdemeanors and nonviolent felonies who are locked up simply because they’re unable to buy their freedom from a bail bond agent. Thousands of people are sitting in jails in Oklahoma for the crime of being poor, sometimes for months. This time behind bars can result in lost jobs, lost housing, and child custody issues. SB 252 would let them return to their jobs and families. Please call members of the Senate Judiciary Committee and ask them to vote YES to SB 252.

Sen. Julie Daniels 405-521-5634 daniels@oksenate.gov
Sen. Darcy Jech 405-521-5545 jech@oksenate.gov
Sen. Mary Boren 405-521-5553 mary.boren@oksenate.gov
Sen. Michael Brook 405-521-5557 brooks@oksenate.gov
Sen. Nathan Dahm 405-521-5551 dahm@oksenate.gov
Sen. Kay Floyd 405-521-5610 floyd@oksenate.gov
Sen. Brent Howard 405-521-5612 brent.howard@oksenate.gov
Sen. James Leewright 405-521-5528 leewright@oksenate.gov
Sen. Casey Murdock 405-521-5626 murdock@oksenate.gov
Sen. Lonnie Paxton 405-521-5537 paxton@oksenate.gov
Sen. Ron Sharp 405-521-5539 sharp@oksenate.gov
Sen. Darrell Weaver 405-521-5569 darrell.weaver@oksenate.gov

House Bill 1269

HB 1269, co-authored by Reps. Jon Echols and Jason Dunnington, would allow people convicted of simple drug possession and low-level property crime to be eligible for shorter sentences. In 2016, voters approved two major justice reform initiatives, State Questions 780 and 781. SQ 780 reclassified simple drug possession and several low-level property crimes as misdemeanors instead of felonies, and SQ 781 directed the long-term savings from lower incarceration rates towards county treatment and rehabilitation services. While these reforms have had an instant impact on our court system, thousands of Oklahomans remain in prison for offenses that today would be a misdemeanor. Please call the members of the House Judiciary Committee and ask them to vote YES to HB 1269.

Rep. Chris Kannady 405-557-7337 chris.kannady@okhouse.gov
Rep. Danny Sterling 405-557-7349 danny.sterling@okhouse.gov
Rep. Rhonda Baker 405-557-7311 rhonda.baker@okhouse.gov
Rep. Avery Frix 405-557-7302 avery.frix@okhouse.gov
Rep. Ben Loring 405-557-7399 ben.loring@okhouse.gov
Rep. Jason Lowe 405-557-7367 jason.lowe@okhouse.gov
Rep. Robert Manger 405-557-7395 robert.manger@okhouse.gov
Rep. Terry O-Donnell 405-557-7379 terry.odonnell@okhouse.gov
Rep. Jim Olsen 405-557-7315 jim.olsen@okhouse.gov
Rep. Mike Osburn 405-557-7360 mike.osburn@okhouse.gov
Rep. David Perryman 405-557-7401 david.perryman@okhouse.gov
Rep. Dustin Roberts 405-557-7366 dustin.roberts@okhouse.gov
Rep. Judd Strom 405-557-7402 judd.strom@okhouse.gov
Rep. Johnny Tadlock 405-557-7363 johnny.tadlock@okhouse.gov
Rep. Collin Walke 405-557-7335 collin.walke@okhouse.gov
Rep. Rande Worthen 405-557-7398 rande.worthen@okhouse.gov

Published by Sabine Brown

Sabine joined Oklahoma Policy Institute in January of 2018. She grew up in Germany but has called Oklahoma home since 1998. Before joining Oklahoma Policy Institute she served as the Oklahoma Chapter Leader for Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America. She is currently pursuing a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa. Sabine earned a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Health Science from the University of Oklahoma and was a physician assistant prior to discovering advocacy work. Sabine enjoys working with grassroots advocates to work towards a fair and prosperous Oklahoma. She lives in Bixby with her husband, Eric, and their two children.