The deadline to register for the primary elections is June 1st!

This has been a memorable year in Oklahoma politics. In addition to our regular legislative session, we had not one, but two special sessions. We saw tens of thousands of teachers descend on the Capitol in the teacher walkout. For the first time in over a decade, we passed tax increases to give teachers and state employees a pay raise. And if that wasn’t exciting enough, we ended the session with a record number of candidates filing to run for office.

It’s been a year of big changes, but we have more work to do. Although the increased revenue was sorely needed, we still have not come close to funding core services at the level that Oklahomans need.

The next step in is up to us.

The deadline to register to vote in the June primaries is June 1st. If you are not registered to vote,  you can find instructions and an application here. You can also get an application at your county election board, tag agencies, post offices, and public libraries.

Not sure whether you’re registered to vote? Check your status here.

Our state has pressing problems. The new governor and next class of legislators will need to be qualified to address them. Please use your vote to find the best people for these important jobs. We can build on the progress we made last session, but only if we show up at the polls.

Published by Sabine Brown

Sabine Brown joined the Oklahoma Policy Institute as Housing Senior Policy Analyst in January 2022. She previously worked at OK Policy from January 2018 until September 2020 as the Outreach and Legislative Director, and earned a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa. Before joining OK Policy she served as the Oklahoma Chapter Leader for Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America. Sabine also earned a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Health Science from the University of Oklahoma and was a physician assistant prior to discovering advocacy work. She grew up in Germany but has called Oklahoma home since 1998.